Break an Egg

For breakfast, I have two raw beaten eggs in a glass of hot milk. I never eat dessert. My nail polish is transparent. I never wear stockings or underclothes because I think it is important to breathe freely. I wash my hair everyday and I am always brushing it. Every morning I walk across my apartment rolling an empty soda bottle between my ankles, in order to preserve my balance.

I’ve never been much of a fan of Marilyn Monroe, but every once in awhile I run across a photograph that does seem to capture her wide ranging (and often at-odds) spirit.  The quality and nature of these images still elicit emotional responses, and answer why she is still so popular today.

Last week, I was sharing a breakfast with my friends in a small diner in Long Beach, Ca.  The restaurant’s walls are filled with kitchy pop art and photographs from all over the world, with former patrons holding up signs that advertise the restaurant.

Above our heads, and across the aisle from our booth was this framed photo:

A little research yields that this photo was taken by Andre de Dienes, who was with Marilyn on and off from 1945 until around 1953.  Experience has shown that most every photo that I like of Monroe was taken by de Dienes.

The best of Marilyn is all about the duality of sex/innocence.  Throw in a breakfast (and not just any breakfast – cereal and toast would not do) and you have something special.

A Gelatin silver print of the original (9.0″ x 8.7″) was last sold at Christies in 2003 for US$11,400.

Apparently one can purchase a poster size version of the print to go above red couches, too.

This entry was posted in mujeres, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

